2021 was a 12 months of runaway inflation within the U.S. When you lived on the minimal wage, it was arduous to maintain up with rising prices.
Nevertheless, assistance is on the best way. Practically half of U.S. states are bumping their minimal wages greater in 2022, in accordance with a roundup from Paycor, an organization that creates HR software program.
A few of these states are progressively elevating their minimal wage over a interval of years with the aim of topping out at $15 an hour. In truth, this 12 months, California will develop into the primary state to formally attain a $15 minimal wage. (The District of Columbia met that mark in 2020.)
Different states do not need the $15 aim however are climbing wages nonetheless.
Following are the states which can be elevating their minimal wage in 2022:
- Arizona: $12.80 (up from the 2021 minimal wage of $12.15)
- California: $15 ($14)
- Colorado: $12.56 ($12.32)
- Connecticut: $14, efficient July 1, 2022 ($13)
- Florida: $11, efficient Sept. 30, 2022 ($10)
- Illinois: $12 ($11)
- Maine: $12.75 ($12.15)
- Maryland: $12.50 ($11.75)
- Massachusetts: $14.25 ($13.50)
- Michigan: $9.87 ($9.65)
- Minnesota: $10.33 ($10.08)
- Missouri: $11.15 ($10.30)
- Montana: $9.20 ($8.75)
- Nevada: $9.50, efficient July 1, 2022 ($8.75)
- New Jersey: $13 ($12)
- New Mexico: $11.50 ($10.50)
- New York: $13.20 ($12.50)
- Ohio: $9.30 ($8.80)
- Oregon: $13.50, efficient July 1, 2022 ($12.75)
- Rhode Island: $12.25 ($11.50)
- South Dakota: $9.95 ($9.45)
- Vermont: $12.55 ($11.75)
- Virginia: $11 ($9.50)
- Washington: $14.49 ($13.69)
The minimal wage will increase could not finish with these states both. Paycor says at the least three different states — North Carolina, Oklahoma and Tennessee — are weighing laws that would enhance their minimal wage as quickly as later this 12 months.
In a handful of states, the brand new minimal wage doesn’t apply to all employers. As an example, California’s $15 minimal wage is barely required of companies using 26 or extra staff. Smaller corporations will pay $14 an hour. In the meantime, in Nevada, the $9.50 per hour minimal wage is just for employers who provide a medical health insurance profit. Those that don’t do this might want to pay their staff at the least $10.50 an hour. Maryland, Minnesota and New Jersey additionally restrict their will increase to solely sure employers.
For extra on what it takes to “get by” the place you reside, try “The ‘Living Wage’ in Every State in 2021.”
Disclosure: The knowledge you learn right here is at all times goal. Nevertheless, we generally obtain compensation once you click on hyperlinks inside our tales.